Our Church History | #wearethetemple

An Historical Snapshot of Baptist Temple Church

“On Christ the solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.”

 We have paused today to celebrate One Hundred and Fourteen Years of standing through the good times and the bad, through the ups and downs, through turmoil and joy.  Baptist Temple is still standing.

 “My hope is built on nothing less, Than Jesus blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame, But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.”  It was upon this solid rock as proclaimed by Jesus in Matthew 16:18 that the Baptist Temple Church was organized at 1413 Murphy Street under the leadership of the late Rev. Robert Taylor, August 11, 1905.  This church was organized as an offspring of the Galilee Baptist Church.

 One Hundred and Fourteen Years, Baptist Temple has been led by eleven Pastors, namely:

 Pastor Robert Taylor ~ August 11, 1905; Pastor W. M. Hicks; Pastor James Banks; Pastor Frank Miles; Pastor Jiles L. Stills ~ 1927 – April 19, 1962; Dr. Leonard Williams ~ August  09, 1962 – May 1998; Pastor Ebb Williams ~ December 1998 – December 29, 2003; Pastor Alvin L. Carthon, Sr. ~ July 25, 2004 – July 03, 2012, Pastor John C. Hollins, February 15, 2014 ~ January 09, 2016 and Dr. Aaron Franklin ~ January 29, 2017 ~ Oct. 15, 2017. On April 28, 2018, Rev. Trevor D. Allen, Sr. was elected Pastor.

 Baptist Temple has not made it 114 years without encountering turmoil and unrest.  The church at 1413 Murphy Street was destroyed by fire.  It was rebuilt under the pastorate of Pastor Frank Miles.

 Pastor Jiles Stills gave leadership for 32 years.  Baptist Temple grew in membership and the ministry flourished.

 Dr. Leonard Williams fulfilled God’s promise to give us a pastor after his own heart.  Under his leadership for 36 years the church started its upward move.  On August 28, 1968, we moved to 1945 Laurel Street.  After relocating, our church purchased the church building, two houses adjacent to the church property and seven lots.  By ways of TRACTS AND SPECIAL SEMINARS, Pastor Williams led the way in all of our endeavors and most of us followed.

 In June of 1994, the Lord opened a door for us, and as a result of much prayer and preparation, we were able to walk through.  We were able to purchase the property at 5024 Greenwood Road formerly Zion Christian Fellowship Church, including five acres of property.

 “When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on His unchanging grace.  In every high and stormy gale, my anchor holds within the veil.”

 Darkness came to us on May 14, 1998 when the mantle fell.  The Great Head of the Church saw that Pastor Williams had grown tired and weary and called him from labor to reward.

 Rev. Ebb Williams served as the 7th Pastor.   He would constantly remind us “that if it is not about Jesus, it’s not about anything.”  Some of his accomplishments included starting the transportation ministry, resurfacing the parking lot, purchasing a new van, and initiating weekly Bible Study and “Women for Christ Ministry.”  He resigned December 29, 2003 after a lengthy illness and absence from the church.

 Baptist Temple entered into a “Sweet Hour of Prayer.”  We recognized that “in seasons of distress and grief, our souls have often found relief, and oft escape the tempter’s snare, by thy return, sweet hour of prayer.”   On May 17, 2004, the Baptist Temple Church Family elected Rev. Alvin L. Carthon, Sr. to be the 8th leader of this flock.  His tenure ended July 03, 2012.  We were blessed to have Dr. Aaron Franklin to serve in the interim.

 The 9th Pastor, Rev. John Hollins was elected on February 15, 2014.  His tenure ended Jan. 09, 2016.  Once again, the Temple Family called on Dr. Aaron Franklin to stand in the gap.

 Dr. Aaron Franklin was installed as the 10th Pastor on January 29, 2017.  He resigned due to health issues on October 15, 2017.

 After much prayer and supplication, the Baptist Temple Church Family our current Pastor Rev. Trevor D. Allen, Sr. was unanimously elected the 11th Pastor on April 28, 2018 and installed July 01, 2018.

 “When He shall come with trumpet sound, oh may I then in Him be found.  Dressed in His righteousness alone, faultless to stand before the throne.  On Christ the solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand. All other ground is sinking sand.”

 Humbly submitted this 11th day of August 2019, Deacon Lorenzo Williams, Chairman, Deacon Board, and Sis. Jackie S. Brown, Secretary of the Church